Jarrod Jeffco

Jarrod Ott '18 worked his way into the varsity ranks this season (Photo courtesy of Eric Nelson.)

The Varsity Boys Cross Country Team placed seventh this past weekend at the Jeffco 4A League Meet at Clement Park.  Evergreen took the boys title.

Junior Trevor Smith earned 1st Team All Conference Honors, finishing 7th in the race with a time of 17:14.  Nick Shipe '18 was the next Gator across the line with a 18:29 32nd place finish.  Also competing for the Gators were Evan Luebbert '17 (34th, 18:33), Cody Dewitt '18 (35th, 18:36), Jared Linford '18 (36th, 18:36), Jarrod Ott '18 (46th, 18:58) and Lukas Klarich '17 (54th, 19:34).

The JV team showed what depth the Gators have by placing third in their team race.  The Gators placed five in the top twenty with Kendall Kinnard '17 (11th, 18:53), Chris Crosby '19 (13th, 18:58), Noah Hendrix '19 (16th, 19:01), Kameron Liao '18 (17th, 19:02) and Alex Grosshans '19 (18th, 19:05). 

The Gators will compete this Thursday in the 4A Region 3 Meet in Lyons.  Nine Gators will run in hopes of getting the team to State.  The Regional Team will be:

Trevor Smith '17

Nick Shipe '18

Evan Luebbert '17

Cody Dewitt '18

Jared Linford '18

Kendall Kinnard '17

Jarrod Ott '18

Chris Crosby '19

Noah Hendrix '19


Jared JFK

Jared Linford '18 was the fourth Gator in for the Boy's Cross Country Team (Photo courtesy of Eric Nelson.)

The Boys Cross Country team dominated the JFK Commander Cup taking first in both the Varsity and JV races.  This feat was especially impressive as the Gators were down their #1 runner (Trevor Smith '17) as he nursed a knee injury.

Taking up for Smith, was Nick Shipe '18 who crossed the line in 18:06 for 7th place.  Cody Dewitt '18 was right behind him, running his fifth (!!!) personal record (PR) of the season with an 18:08 for 8th place.  Evan Luebbert '17 also received individual honors running 18:22 for tenth.  The remaining four Gators all crossed the line in the top twenty.  They were Jared Linford '18 (12th, 18:28), Eli Student '18 (14th, 18:37 PR), Kendall Kinnard (15th, 18:38) and Jarrod Ott '18--running his first varsity race--in a PR 18:42 for 17th place.

The JV team had an even more convincing victory, placing seven runners in the top eight places.  They were: Lukas Klarich '17 (2nd, 19:03), Nathaniel Kregar '18 (3rd, 19:34 PR), Alex Grosshans '19 (4th, 19:42), Braden Overholt '19 (5th, 19:45 PR), Kameron Liao '18 (6th, 19:45 PR), Chris Crosby '19 (7th, 19:46) and Noah Hendrix '19 (8th, 19:47 PR).

Also running PRs in the JV race were Collin Gammon '19 (14th, 20:34), Luke Larson '18 (17th 20:54), Dante Steinmetz '19 (64th, 24:36), Gavin McKenna '19 (72nd, 25:36) and Chris Maez '19 (87th 26:44).


Cody A West

Cody Dewitt '18 ran a big race at the Arvada West Invite (Photo courtesy of Eric Nelson.)

The Varsity Boys Cross Country Team ran to a 5th place finish at the Arvada West Invite this past Friday.  Host team Arvada West took the team title.

Trevor Smith '17 continued to lead the Gators with a 17:24 ninth place finish.  The remaining four scoring runners all posted personal record (PR) times as they crossed the finish line.  They were: Nick Shipe '18 (22nd, 18:02), Evan Luebbert '17 (29th, 18:19), Cody Dewitt '18 (30th, 18:19) and Jared Linford '18 (33rd, 18:25).  Dewitt's time was especially impressive as it is almost two and a half minutes faster than his best time from last year.  Also competing in the varsity race were Eli Student '18 (48th, 18:54) and Kendall Kinnard '17 (49th, 18:56).

The JV Boys placed fourth as a team in their race.  The first seven Gator runners all posted PR times.  They were: Jarrod Ott '18 (7th, 19:11), Alex Grosshans '19 (12th, 19:24), Chris Crosby '19 (19th, 19:32), Nathaniel Kregar '18 (21st, 19:56), Kameron Liao '18 (25th, 20:06), Noah Hendrix '19 (33rd, 20:24), and Corey Smith '18 (38th, 20:33).

Other Gators that posted PRs in the JV race were Eli Crowe '18 (44th, 20:44), Collin Gammon '19 (47th, 20:49), Jackson Valls '19 (60th, 21:06), Kelvin Chen '18 (68th, 21:15), Nick Bailie '19 (73rd, 21:28), Jack Holtorf '19 (93rd, 22:05), Dante Steinmetz '19 (145th, 25:34) and Chris Maez '19 (156th, 27:15).

The Cross Country team will compete next at the JFK Commander Cup on Friday, September 25th at Bear Valley Regional Park (W Dartmouth Ave and S Teller St in Denver).  Races start at 4pm.


Nick Denver North

Nick Shipe '18 placed 10th at the Denver North Invite (Photo courtesy of Eric Nelson.)

The Boys Cross Country Varsity team placed 3rd at the Denver North Invite this past Monday with a team score of 89 points.  Green Mountain just edged out Golden for the team title with 64 points over Golden's 68.  Trevor Smith '17 (5th, 17:55) and Nick Shipe '18 (10th, 18:34) made it to the medal stand for the Gators.  Also running for the Gators was Evan Luebbert '17 (20th, 19:12), Cody Dewitt '18(27th, 19:28), Jared Linford '18(29th, 19:32), Kendall Kinnard '17 (35th, 19:43) and Eli Student '18 (38th, 19:56).

The JV team had a great run, winning the team title with 60 points.  Boys contributing to that title were Lukas Klarich '17 (6th, 20:10), Jarrod Ott '18 (8th, 20:15), Kameron Liao '18 (10th, 20:36), Nathaniel Kregar '18 (18th, 21:09), Alex Grosshans '19 (20th, 21:11), Braden Overholt '19 (24th, 21:16), and Noah Hendrix '19 (39th, 22:04).

The course tends to run slow, but two Gators in the JV race managed to run personal record times.  They were Jackson Valls '19 in 22:22 (45th) and Chris Maez '19 in 32:36 (163rd).


Evan Gator

Evan Luebbert '17 posted a personal best time and earned a medal at the Gator Invite (Photo courtesy of Eric Nelson.)

Standley Lake hosted their home cross country invitational this past Saturday attracting a large nineteen team field.  The boys varsity team battled with some tough competition to earn fourth place.

Making it to the medal stand were Trevor Smith' 17 (7th, 17:29) and Evan Luebbert '17 (15th 18:23).  Luebbert's time was a personal record (PR).  Following behind them were Nick Shipe '18 (26th, 18:49), Jared Linford '18 (31st, 18:57) and Eli Student '18 (32nd, 19:00).  Cody Dewitt '18 continued to chip away at his personal best, running a 19:07 for 35th.  Kendall Kinnard '17 also ran, recording a 19:43 for 44th place.

In the JV race, the Gators put all five scoring runners in the top 15 to place first as a team.  The winning effort was comprised of Lukas Klarich '17 (5th, 20:03), Jarrod Ott '18 (6th, 20:10), Nathaniel Kregar '18 (7th, 20:17), Kameron Liao '18 (13th, 20:43) and Alex Grosshans '19 (15th, 20:44).  Ott, Kregar and Grosshans all recorded PRs in this race.

The other Gator PR of the night was recorded by Gavin McKenna '19 who ran a 26:38.